Advertisement

Fireworks went on sale Friday

Ready or not, fireworks went on sale for the 4th of July festivities on Friday, June 28, 2019. In unincorporated Snohomish County fireworks can only be discharged on Thursday, July 4th, from 9:00 am to 11:59 pm. Mill Creek and a number of other cities have further restricted or banned the sale and discharge of fireworks.

By Richard Van Winkle, News of Mill Creek.

Ready or not, fireworks went on sale for the 4th of July festivities in Washington State on Friday, June 28, 2019.

Washington State law allows sales of consumer fireworks to begin on June 28th at noon and end on July 5th at 9:00 pm.

However, in unincorporated Snohomish County fireworks can only be discharged on Thursday, July 4th, from 9:00 am to 11:59 pm.

In addition, a number of cities and other counties have further restricted or banned the sale and discharge of fireworks. Be sure to check with your local jurisdiction before using fireworks.

In 2018, the Washington State Fire Marshal’s Office (SFMO) received 301 reports of fireworks-related incidents by hospitals, clinics, and fire agencies in Washington State.  Of the 301 reports received, there were 209 injuries and 92 fires.  Fireworks-related incidents most often occur on July 4th.

Breakdown of incidents:

  • 209 injuries reported; 10 percent lower than the 10 year average.
  • 92 fires reported due to fireworks use, resulting in a loss of $161,475.
  • 88 injuries were caused by holding the fireworks once lit.
  • 71 of the 92 fires were classified as wildland or vegetation.

Washingtonians can enjoy consumer fireworks in a safe and responsible way, if they follow a few simple tips.  When planning your fireworks fun, remember to:

  • Be Prepared – Buy only legal fireworks, have water nearby while lighting and keep pets indoors.
  • Be Safe – Only adults should light fireworks. Never light fireworks in your hand and never use them indoors. Always light one firework at a time.
  • Be Responsible – Clean up fireworks debris and soak used fireworks with water.  Keep matches and lighters away from children.

A state license is required along with a local permit to operate a fireworks stand in Washington.  

The Washington State Fire Marshal’s Office (SFMO) issued 698 retail fireworks stand licenses in 2019; this number is close to the previous year’s total of 700.

Fireworks must be purchased from a licensed retail fireworks stand during the legal sales period.

Orders for fireworks cannot be placed over the Internet or posted on websites such as Craigslist.  

Residents should talk with family members and guests about the fireworks laws for their area.

The fireworks regulations for North Puget Sound Cities and unincorporated Snohomish County are as follows:

Arlington – Restricted

  • Sales period - June 28th, 12 p.m. (noon) to 9 p.m.; and June 29th through July 4th, 9 a.m. to 9 p.m..
  • Discharge period - July 4th, 9 a.m. to 12 a.m. (midnight).

Bothell - Restricted

  • Sales period - July 1st, 12 p.m. (noon) to 11 p.m.; July 2nd through July 3rd, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.; and July 4th, 9 a.m. to 9 p.m..
  • Discharge period - July 4th, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m..

Brier - Banned

Darrington - Restricted

  • Sales period – June 28th, 12 p.m. (noon) to 11 p.m.; June 29th to July 3rd, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.; July 4th, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.; July 5th, 9 a.m. to 9 p.m..
  • Discharge period - June 28th, 12 p.m. to 11 p.m.; June 29th to July 3rd, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.; July 4th, 9 a.m. to 12:00 a.m. (midnight); July 5th, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m..

Edmonds - Banned

Everett - Banned

Gold Bar - Banned

Granite Falls - Restricted

  • Sales period – June 28th, 12 p.m. (noon) to 11 p.m.; June 29th to July 3rd, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.; July 4th, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.; July 5th, 9 a.m. to 9 p.m..
  • Discharge period - July 4th, 9 a.m. to 12:00 a.m. midnight.

Index - Restricted

  • Sales period – Banned, none.
  • Discharge period - July 4th, 9 a.m. to 12:00 a.m. (midnight).

Lake Stevens - Restricted

  • Sales period - June 28th, 12 p.m. (noon) to 9 p.m.; June 29th through July 4th, 9 a.m. to 9 p.m..
  • Discharge period - July 4th, 9 a.m. to 12 a.m. (midnight).

Lynnwood - Banned

Marysville - Banned

Mill Creek - Banned

Monroe - Restricted

  • Sales period - July 1st through July 4th, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m..
  • Discharge period - July 4th, 9 a.m. to 12 a.m. (midnight).

Mountlake Terrace - Banned

Mukilteo - Banned

Stanwood - Restricted

  • Sales period – June 28th, 12 p.m. (noon) to 11 p.m.; June 29th to July 3rd, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.; July 4th, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.; and July 5th, 9 a.m. to 9 p.m..
  • Discharge period - June 28th, 12 p.m. to 11 p.m.; June 29th to July 3rd, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.; July 4th, 9 a.m. to 12:00 a.m. (midnight); July 5th, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m..

Snohomish– Restricted

  • Sales period – July 1st to July 4th, 9 a.m. to 10 p.m..
  • Discharge period - July 1st to July 4th, 9 a.m. to 11:00 p.m..

Unincorporated Snohomish County – Restricted

  • Sales period – June 28th, 12 p.m. (noon) to 11 p.m.; June 29th to July 4th, 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.; July 5th, 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. (noon).
  • Discharge period - July 4th, 9 a.m. to 11:59 p.m..

Woodway - banned

Tags: 

Our featured sponsor

Google ad